The Elephant House

I spent the first 3 days of last week in Edinburgh and while I was there I visited The Elephant House. For anyone who doesn’t know The Elephant House is the cafe where J.K. Rowling wrote the first Harry Potter book.

009

When you go in it just seems like a slightly fancy cafe, there are only a few pictures of J.K Rowling on the wall. The food is decently priced, I got the Pesto and Mozzarella panini which was nice although a bit fancier that what I would normally eat.

006

But then when you go in to the toilets, it is floor to ceiling covered in ‘graffiti’: messages from Harry Potter fans of all ages, from all over the world, quoting the books, films, a very potter musical and leaving thank you messages to J.K Rowling.  I spent a good 10 minutes reading them and taking pictures of my favourites and of course I had to sign the wall myself. I drew a Deathly Hallows symbol and beneath it I wrote my initials & the date. Below are some of the pictures I took, they’re a bit blurry because I took them on my I-pod. (I may do another post showing them all)IMG_0151

IMG_0152

Ron’s Emotional Range

What I wrote

What I wrote

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If  you ever get the chance to visit The Elephant Cafe I recommend that you do.

One thought on “The Elephant House

Leave a Reply

