Really Good Film Adaptations.

[This was originally written in December 2012]

It seems like the majority of the films that are coming out early next year are adaptations of books (Les Miserables, The Great Gatsby, Cloud Atlas etc) . I want to talk about some adaptations that are really good and one which is absolutely terrible.

Harry potter and the philosopher’s stone
As we all know Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone is the first of the Harry Potter books and films. It isn’t my favourite but it is one of the best of all eight films. This is because it had to be good, if it wasn’t I doubt that any of the other books would have been adapted. The philosopher’s stone was our first look at the world we had read about and it kept to the story much more than some of the later ones (Goblet of fire/ Half blood prince).

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Based on the book by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, this film isn’t exactly the same but it has the same spirit. Michael Cera and Kat Dennings are really good as Nick and Norah. I enjoy both the book and the film.

Let The Right One In (original Swedish version)
Let The Right One in is the only book I have ever read where I liked the film adaptation more that I liked the book. I actually only picked up the book because I loved the film so much. I like how the film keeps all the key parts of the book and displays them in a way that isn’t as graphic and disturbing. If you’ve read the book you’ll know how gross some of it is. I also like that they kept Eli’s gender ambiguous (a key part of the book) unlike the american remake with changed the name entirely to Abby so that they didn’t have to deal with that.

Matilda
I’m slightly ashamed to say this but I’ve never actually read Matilda. Despite this I think we can all agree that the film adaptation is great even though it’s set in America and not England. I have really great memories of watching it as a kid and get reminded of it every time I hear that song that goes ‘on my way’.

Scott Pilgrim VS. The World
Based on the 6 Scott Pilgrim graphic novels, this film sticks almost completely to original story. In fact there are scenes which look identical to images in the graphic novels. It’s one of my favourite films and I love the onscreen effects that make it seem like a video game.

The Hobbit – An Unexpected Journey
This is the first of three films based on The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I went to see it the other day and I absolutely loved it. The whole film looks amazing, Martin Freeman is great as Bilbo and The dwarves are awesome and sometimes hilarious. It’s just a really really good film and I definitely recommend that you go and see it.

An absolutely terrible adaptation is The Golden Compass which is based on Northern Lights by Phillip Pullman. Ugh it’s just so bad, It’s like the producers cared more about the actors and the special effects than the story. I’m glad they haven’t tried to do The Subtle Knife.

Leave a Reply

